Lake Charles, La. – November 14, 2013 – On Wednesday, November 13, CITGO Lake Charles Refinery employees presented Lisa Moore, third grade teacher at Pearl Watson Elementary School in Lake Charles, with $1,000 worth of classroom supplies as part the CITGO Fueling Education Promotion. Ms. Moore was one of the 108 teachers from across the CITGO marketing footprint who received grants from CITGO to create customized school supply lists to address the specific needs of their students and classrooms.

“I am so grateful to CITGO for helping us purchase library resources, science equipment, and classroom staples. Only a handful of my students come to school with the necessary supplies.” Moore said.

“It was sheer joy to see the students and Ms. Moore beam with enthusiasm as they searched through the boxes of supplies. The hope is these resources can give Ms. Moore and other dedicated teachers like her the ability to help their students achieve their goals and dreams,” said Dana Keel, Government and Public Affairs Manager for the CITGO Lake Charles Refinery. “As one of the four core principles of CITGO, we are always investing time and resources to support education. Our Lake Charles Refinery employees have also enjoyed being involved with E.K. Key Elementary school and its many programs as well as volunteering to teach Junior Achievement classes at Sulphur High School to help students engage in new community projects and strive for a better future.”

CITGO, which is based in Houston, is a refiner, transporter and marketer of transportation fuels, lubricants, petrochemicals and other industrial products.  The company is owned by PDV America, Inc., an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of Petróleos de Venezuela, S.A., the national oil company of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.  For more information, visit



CITGO Government & Public Affairs Manager Dana Keel, Pearl Watson 3rd Grade Teacher, Webmaster, Technology Facilitator Lisa Moore and CITGO Communications Specialist April Altazan with Pearl Watson Elementary third grade students: Jairus Davis, Jalah Duhon, Lynisha Daw, Daron Dupre, Jailyn Gipson, Alyssa Jackson, Shamari Miller, Dayan Robinson, Kabran Robinson, Jaslyn Scott, Kevin Stevens, Leron Thomas, Zelani Trahan, and  Dmaja Vanburen.


# # #



Dana Keel

Government & Public Affairs Manager